Skip to main content


The board of trustees and the research council support the work of the institute.

Board of Trustees

The board of trustees appoints the president of the institute and determines the research programme in agreement with him/her. The board is also responsible for supervising the management of the foundation's assets. Besides, it examines and approves the institute's budgetary plan according to the respective provisions of the federal government.

Rules of procedure of the board of trustees (in German)

Members of the board of trustees

The founders have appointed the following persons as members of the board of trustees. An additional (automatic) member is the chairperson of the research council.


Hartmut Schauerte
Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Acion

Deputy Chair

Karl-Uwe Bütof
Ministry of Economic Affairs, Innovation, Digitisation and Energy of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Other members

Dagmar Rothacher
Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Climate Acion

Andreas Lux
Federal Ministry of Finance

Thorsten Menne
Ministry for Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Roland Essel
Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Transport of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia

Chairperson of the Research Council

Prof. Dr. Sabine Rau
PETER MAY Family Business Consulting GmbH & Co. KG

Research council

The research council supports the institute in developing short and medium-term research priorities and accompanies their implementation. Furthermore, it promotes the institute's co-operation with academia, Mittelstand (SME) enterprises, their associations and the administration.

Rules of procedure of the research council (in German)

The research council consists of the following eight members, who are appointed for four years by the board of trustees:


Prof. Dr. Sabine Rau
University of Ottawa, Canada und Université de Luxembourg

Deputy Chair

Prof. Dr. Michael Fritsch
Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Other members

Prof. Dr. Heiko Gergmann
Professor and Senior Lecturer for Entrepreneurship, KMU-HSG, University of St. Gallen

Prof. Dr. Constanze Chwallek
University of Applied Sciences Aachen

Prof. Dr. Michael Gielnik
Leuphana University Lüneburg

Dr. Matthias Mainz
Managing Director IHK NRW - Die Industrie- und Handelskammern in Nordrhein-Westfalen e.V.

Dr. Constantin Terton
Head of Department Economic, Energy and Environmental Policy German Confederation of Skilled Crafts (ZDH)

Fabian Wehnert
Head of Department Medium-Sized and Family Businesses